We are all snowflakes

The cookie: Peanut butter cookies (find the recipe on this post)

The speakers: Rose and Tailor, two members of a writers’ group I attend

The story:

Rose: Dude, we’re all exactly the same.

Taylor: Not me; I’m a snowflake.

Rose: Did your mom tell you that?

Taylor: Yes, and she still does. I mean, we’re all people. But everyone has their own story. If you’re a writer, you have to think about all the freaking tumult going on in each person’s mind– all the shit going on at home, or with whatever they do in their free time. Maybe this guy has his World of Warcraft game, or his crazy boss is breathing down his neck at work, or his freaking kid lives Rome and she’s on some tour and he feels like he’s losing touch with her. There’s always some shit going on. Or at least that’s why I try to think, so when I get disillusioned I guess I can comfort myself with the fact that we’re all the same. In some ways.

Rose: But see, I don’t think that’s a bad thing. I don’t think it has to be one way or the other. If we focus on both the similarities and the differences, that will bring us together but also remind us that we’re individuals.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “We are all snowflakes

  1. Taylor

    Wonderful story! You are the best baker ever

Leave a Reply

